Twitter

A few days ago I listed “Twitter” as a new experience I would like to have.  My savvy and always up-to-date with what’s going on in the world friend, Gwen, was kind enough to give me some basic tips, such as using Tweetdeck and telling me why people put things like RT, @ and # before everything they write.   To be fair, I wasn’t totally new to Twitter, because I still had an account from when I’d tried it before and just didn’t get it.   But I think I get it now.

Unfortunately I still don’t really like it much.   I finally just had to turn Tweetdeck off because it was driving me nuts, popping up and “tweeting” things like where my friends were eating lunch or whatever Keith Olbermann was indignant about at any given time.  It was like having a houseful of children running in as I was trying to concentrate and work, saying, “Mom look at me!”,  “I think the President’s an idiot!”,  “I’m eating at Panera right now!”,  “They’re protesting in Wisconsin!”  “I like baseball!”  “Its sunny/snowy/rainy right now!”,   etc, etc, etc

To be fair, I don’t like verbal “tweeting” or chattering much either.  Too much jabbering inevitably makes me irritable and gives me a headache, and I can only take it in small doses.    Listening to people talk all day is the main thing I do to earn a living, and I’m frequently interrupted in my office with phone calls and a steady stream of people showing up at my desk as I try to get things done, so adding the Tweets on top of all that was just too much.     And I honestly could not think of one single “hashtag” topic that I would want to read about whenever anyone in the world felt like emitting 140 characters or less about it.

So now I’ve tried Twitter, and I do like having the account and being able to go into the website on MY time, when I feel like it.   But I read through past tweets, more like I do Facebook updates, rather than keeping up in real-time.   I like following my friends, but not while I’m trying to talk on the phone to an attorney, have a patient in crisis, am 3 reports behind and need to plan next week’s group presentation.    I guess I am not surprised—I also hated it when AIM was popular, and almost always have the “chat” feature on Facebook turned off.  I usually prefer email to phone calls to relay/receive information.  But I can now officially cross learning Twitter off my list.  Now, who wants to take me on a photo safari of Africa?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Twitter

  1. I’m like you about IM chatting, Facebook updates etc. I cannot stand the interruptions. I’ll read things on my own time & often end up doing a bulk “mark as read” on my RSS feeds.
    However, twitter…well, I love it. It probably helps that I don’t read it on the computer so when I need to focus on a spreadsheet, there are no pop up distractions. I read it exclusively on my phone. So, after spending an hour in a meeting or on a report, I’ll take a five minute break and scroll through my time line. For me, it’s a welcome, controllable distraction. Yes, it means that I am frequently 2 hours or so behind conversations, but the friends with whom I interact the most don’t mind at all.

  2. Heidi Lou

    I use Twitter the same way Christina does. I go to it when I feel like it, when I need a distraction. I don’t let it interrupt me.

    Hmph! I thought you cared deeply about where I eat lunch every day!

  3. juniper2250

    Ok so now that you learned it, teach me 🙂 I don’t get all the RT @’s and #’s…..

Leave a Reply

