Norwegian Trivia

It’s 6pm on cozy casual night.  The problem for me is that the big event doesn’t start for a couple more hours.   As my dogs are reminding me, we are usually finishing up dinner and headed upstairs to spend the evening watching TV, cross-stitching, surfing, and cuddling at this point in the evening.   I’m not used to eating that late and I’m certainly not used to being out after 7!   My typical cozy casual outfit by this time in the evening looks like this:

But tonight I am headed out to a party with a Norwegian theme, so I thought I could learn something about Norway to keep me awake.   Norway is the school’s “country of study” this year, so the faculty and students are spending the year learning quite a bit about it, but I don’t know much beyond what I learned from Hagar the Horrible.

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far: 

Norway is about 1/2 the size of Texas

1/3 of Norway is in the Arctic Circle

Norwegians are the tallest Europeans

Sweden and Norway separated in 1905

Harald the V has been King of Norway since 1991

If they try to serve me Sheep’s Head tonight, I’m going home:

Smalahove

 

1 Comment

Filed under New Learning

One response to “Norwegian Trivia

  1. Maryann

    I don’t know… I’m envisioning your cozy casual outfit to be accompanied by a glass of wine, not a rolling pin! 😉 Here’s hoping there’s no sheep’s head tonight.

Leave a Reply

