Have a Coke and a smile

Today’s new experience was to buy a bottle of Coke.   No kidding.   I realize that this highlights how incredibly boring and  predictable I am, but remember that I am a woman who has bought the same pair of sandals over and over again for the past 12 years or so.   I am a sensible Midwesterner.  So if you were expecting 365 days of thrills and excitement, you came to the wrong place.

I have always looked at those cute little bottles of Coca-Cola in the Piggly Wiggly and thought they looked refreshing and cool and fun.  And wanted to buy them.  But they are tiny (8 oz) and not cost effective, and besides,  on the occasions  I do drink soda, its primarily Diet.  Caffeine Free.    And lest you think its just about the Coke itself, I will point out that we still have a 1/2 empty, flat-by-now, 2 liter bottle of the exact same beverage in our pantry, left over from the faculty Christmas party.    Its not about the Coke, its about the bottle.   So remembering my blog, and that I had nothing to show for today, I splurged.  I bought the 6-pack of the 8 oz bottles of Coca-Cola with the classic red bottle caps.   For $5.   Not on sale, and without a coupon.   Then I came home and chilled it,  opened one and drank it.

And when Anna discovered them in the refrigerator, I allowed her to have one.  She initially had no idea how to open a bottle.   She did not know that things like bottle openers even exist or how to use it.   Given that the only other bottles I’m aware of these days that need bottle openers contain beer, I guess that might be a good thing.    But she must have liked it enough, because I noticed her Coca-cola bottle was full again later and asked her about it.  She had not opened a 2nd bottle (she had strict instructions not to), but HAD poured some root beer into the bottle.   Her diet, caffeine-free root beer.   The store-brand kind, nothing fancy like a real A&W.   Moderation in all things 🙂

10 Comments

Filed under New Experience

10 responses to “Have a Coke and a smile

  1. I buy soda about once a year and today Brian wanted some because he got a mentos experiment for Christmas. So we stood in the soda aisle at Safeway – “it has to be diet mom” and “it has to a big bottle and Safeway brand works the best”. Done and done. Big bottle of diet, Safeway brand.

    It’s been years since I actually tasted Coke. Iced tea on the other hand, is my downfall. All my years living in NC, I couldn’t get enough of that sweet tea.

  2. I have lusted after those little bottles, too, but haven’t fallen for the siren song yet…so glad you did! I, too, am a diet drinker, but I am a little more regular than you are…almost every day at work I have one (two on a bad day) diet Dr. Pepper or diet A&W root beer…cans, of course.

  3. Just getting caught up with your new blog. I think this is a wonderful way to honor your friend.

    I can’t remember the last time I had a Coke. Or any soda (pop for the Midwesterners) for that matter. Those bottles sure are cute.

  4. Jen

    I got a sodastream for Christmas! I do love Coke but sometimes it’s too sweet or bubbly. With these machines, you can make your own Coke recipe, or use juices – we’re having fun playing with it. I haven’t had to replace the cartridge yet. I’m wondering how much that will cost….?
    Enjoy the Cokes!

  5. Pingback: Strange Google Searches | One New Thing

  6. Personally I prefare that 1lt thin neck cocke bottle or the stumpy smallest bottle and drink out of a bottle wow that’s a taste of time!!!

  7. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than
    just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable
    and everything. Nevertheless imagine if you added some great graphics
    or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent
    but with images and video clips, this blog could certainly be one of the greatest in its niche.
    Amazing blog!

  8. I feel this is among the most important info for me.
    And i’m satisfied reading your article. However should commentary on some normal issues, The website taste is great, the articles is actually nice : D. Excellent job, cheers

  9. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails
    with the same comment. Is there any waay you can remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

  10. You must spent a lot of time writing articles on your blog, you can save a
    lot of work, just search in gogle:
    treoughan’s rewriter

Leave a Reply

