South Carolina’s Windshield Replacement Law

Earlier this week I got into my car and had an “oh crap” moment.   There, right in the center of the windshield,was a foot-long crack.     I tried to wipe it off, hoping it was just a condensation pattern, or twig that had fallen and was playing tricks on my eyes, but no such luck.   I have no idea why it cracked although I’m sure the fact that it had been  about 120 degrees one day then 30 below the next probably didn’t help.  A cracked windshield is not a rare or a serious problem, but the times it has happened before its ended up being one of those “Gee, I could have thought of  better uses for that $250″ moments.  Sure, you can report it to insurance, but the cost is less than the deductible and then you have a dreaded  claim on our record    (Insurance Rule #1: never use it).

But we quickly discovered Reason #220 why South Carolina is a cool place to live.  Apparently at some point along the way a lawmaker must have chipped a windshield because it is one of only 4 states with a “windshield replacement law.”   This means that when your windshield (or in SC’s case, ANY window) is cracked,  your insurance has to replace it with NO deductible, and they can’t count it against you.   And not only did our insurer cover it, they even sent someone to my workplace and he replaced it right there in the parking lot.   So no missed work or sitting around in repair shops for hours.

19 Comments

Filed under New Learning

19 responses to “South Carolina’s Windshield Replacement Law

  1. hmmm, IL must have the same law – doesn’t cost us anything to have the windshield replaced/repaired either (other than premiums). The insurance company doesn’t send the people out, but the windshield people will come to your car (like in the parking lot at work) and they’ll take care of contacting/billing the insurance. sweet.

  2. suzi

    we had to do that once too. The guy came to dh’s work and fixed it no cost. Very cool! Glad it helped minimize the hassle.

  3. Same in Massachusetts… a wonderful thing!

  4. Same in New Hampshire – what are the odds we’ve got all 4 states covered right here!

  5. Roxie

    Just so you know… In South Carolina they will replace it for free ONLY if you have full coverage (comprehensive) insurance. Otherwise…. they pay nothing.

  6. Kerry

    That doesn’t seem fair. Especially, if you did not cause the damage.

  7. my insurance company saids we have to paid our deductable and we live in south carolina..what the he………… can some one please help me I have got a crack windshield and it is getting bigger.

    thanks
    jeannie

  8. Donna Robertson

    Jeannie, do you have nationwide? My windshield got busted in a hail storm..nationwide denied my claim to fix my car and so I put in JUST a windshield claim, they denied this too..so yeah they first said I had to pay a deductable, but I have comprehinsive and collision and state law is that you dont have to pay a deductable, so Im having to get an attorney, but cool thing is, I have noticed that they have denied a lot of others that were in same hail storm, so my lawyer is going to have a field day in court.. Make them pay you back if you have comprehinsive, because it is a state law! Good luck!!

  9. You give some great advice here. Thanks for sharing this to us. Keep posting!

    autoglass replacement

  10. Ron

    Please understand everyone…YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO CHOOSE WHICH COMPANY REPLACES YOUR WINDSHIELD. Do not let your insurance company send you a company. They will choose someone on their ‘preferred network’ and you will wind up with a cheap, leaky, whistling windshield. Most Glass companies give a lifetime warranty on the seal and workmanship so do your homework. If it is improperly installed and the airbag is deployed in an accident it will blow out the windshield and not have the support needed to cushion you. If you want more information on this and you live in S.C. feel free to call me at 803-447-2896. Ask for Ron.

  11. Collin

    Thanks for sharing this informative post to us. This is really helpful for car owners about windshield replacement.

  12. Posted some great stuff discussing in this blogging section. I learned from it. http://we-fix-autoglass.com/wa/kirkland-washington/

  13. joshua

    does any one know where i can find this law because my insurance said i have to pay my deductable but the glass companies say different and i dont have time or money to get a lawer but i wont proof so i can get my windshield repaired

  14. Thanks , I’ve recently been searching for info approximately this subject for a long time and yours is the greatest I’ve found out so far.
    However, what in regards to the bottom line? Are you certain
    concerning the source?

  15. Excellent blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics talked about in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get advice from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

  16. This is probably the best thing I’ve read all day! I wish that my state had a replacement law, but alas California won’t pass anything like that!

  17. Hey, I’m John from AAA Glass. We are an insurance preferred auto glass company in South Carolina. If anyone has any questions about the auto glass laws in South Carolina, I would be happy to help. Give us a call.
    We Come To You!
    Columbia Area: (803)629-0963
    Charleston Area: (843)566-4888
    Greenville Area: (864)991-7025
    http://www.aaaglassllc.com

  18. Troy SAVAGE

    91 Cadillac elderado windshield

Leave a Reply

